Charyl Says


Then and Now

I’ve always found side-by-side comparisons of the past and the present intriguing. It sets the mind to contemplating time, history, and how we energetically imprint ourselves on our surroundings.  I could spend hours exploring sites like What Was There and have even attempted a few of my own “then and now” photographic representations.  Perhaps I’m biased, but this is one of my favorites: a house on the west side of Pana (Illinois) that has been in my family for over 100 years.  I spent my teenage years in this house and my parents still live there.  My grandfather is one of the boys sitting in the front; he was 94 when he passed away in 2010.  The picture on the left was taken in 1918 and the right in 2015 (click to enlarge):

HouseComparison

Surnames associated: Denbow, Johnson, Jones, Castle, Mack, Tarvin, Beebe, Wolf, and Todd.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love comparing pictures of what once was to what is now. I can’t think of the name, but I know there is a photographer that combines old pictures with new pictures of buildings. They look really neat. I saw them at an art festival I believe…

Comment by Midnight Sparkles




Leave a Reply

